CSSA Announces Opening for VC Skaters


Dear Members:

The CSSA Board of Directors would like to share with you that Xiuli Wang has resigned as a member of the CSSA Board, effective September 4, 2017, due to the time and travel commitment that is required of Xiuli in her role as coach of China’s speed skating team, and, due to an increase in her family commitments. Xiuli was a valuable contributor to CSSA and to the Board, especially last season as a Member at Large. Xiuli was always willing and prepared to share her vast knowledge and valuable insight and she helped develop a stronger program. The entire Board would like to thank Xiuli for her contributions to CSSA. We are hopeful, when time allows her, that Xiuli will be able to assist and support the Board and CSSA in other capacities.

As a result, the role of VC Skaters for the 2017-2018 Season is now open. Pursuant to section 4.12 of the by-laws, in the event of a vacancy on the Board during the course of the season, the Board can either fill that vacancy, or the position may remain vacant until the next annual general meeting. As the VC Equipment position is an important role, the Board’s preference is to have a new director in place by mid-September.

If any CSSA member is interested in applying for the VC Skater position we would request that you send an e-mail to Carole Yen at [email protected] by no later than Friday, September 15, 2017.

Please provide a brief description of your qualifications and why you would like to join the Board in this specific role. Following a review of any applicants, the Board will appoint a VC Skaters to serve until the next annual general meeting in April 2018.

For additional information, the description for the position of VC Skaters can be found at: https://gallery.mailchimp.com/d7f5cb35b45ffd90320ba686d/files/436d0bfa-eaad-4d5d-acb4-645fb1c1825a/VCEquipment.pdf.

For full set of Board Of Directions Descriptions, please see: http://calgaryspeedskating.ca/wp-content/uploads/09-07-30-CSSA-Board-Position-Descriptions.pdf.

Board of Directors